Workers' Compensation

NIOSH Announces Members of Panel to Examine MSHA Internal Review

Washington, DC (CompNewsNetwork) - The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) today announced the members of a panel that will examine the process and outcomes of the Mine Safety and Health Administration's (MSHA) internal review in the wake of the explosion at the Upper Big Branch Mine in West Virginia.

The members are:

Lewis V. Wade, Ph.D., former senior science advisor to the Director of NIOSH.

Michael J. Sapko, M.S., retired NIOSH senior physical scientist.

Alison D. Morantz, Ph.D., J.D., M.Sc., Associate Professor of Law and John A.
Wilson Distinguished Faculty Scholar at the Stanford Law School.

NIOSH Director John Howard, M.D., J.D.

U.S. Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis on April 16 asked Dr. Howard to identify a team with relevant experience to provide an independent analysis of MSHA's internal review more