Two Free Asylum Webinars, Dec. 4th & 11th, 2013

Two Free Asylum Webinars, Dec. 4th & 11th, 2013

"1.  The Immigration Advocates Network and the Immigrant Legal Resource Center invite you to join a free webinar, "Introduction to Asylum," on Wednesday, December 4th at 2:00 pm Eastern / 1:00 pm Central / 12:00 pm Mountain / 11:00 am Pacific. This two-hour webinar will review the legal elements of an asylum claim and practical approaches to crafting arguments for various elements. We'll discuss ways to argue past persecution claims, mixed motive cases, imputed political opinion and particular social group claims, and also cover the various bars to asylum. The panelists are Lourdes Martinez and Erin Quinn, staff attorneys at the Immigrant Legal Resource Center.

To register for this free webinar, visit https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/565806350. After registering you will receive a confirmation email on how to join the webinar.

2.   We are having another free webinar, "The New Asylum EAD Clock Rules," a week later on Wednesday, December 11th at 2:00 pm Eastern / 1:00 pm Central / 12:00 pm Mountain / 11:00 am Pacific. This webinar will review the settlement of the nationwide ABT v. USCIS asylum EAD clock class action, which takes effect December 3, 2013. It will cover who is included in the class and subclasses, the relief provided to members of each subclass, and the procedures for filing a complaint if the settlement is not properly applied in a class member's case. The panelists are Iris Gomez, Massachusetts Law Reform Institute; Chris Strawn, Northwest Immigrant Rights Project; and, Emily Creighton, American Immigration Council.

To register for this free webinar, visit https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/461038974. After registering you will receive a confirmation email on how to join the webinar.

If you have questions, email us at support@immigrationadvocates.org<mailto:support@immigrationadvocates.org>.

We hope that you will join us,
Immigration Advocates Network

The Immigration Advocates Network is a collaborative project of the ABA Commission on Immigration, ACLU Immigrants' Rights Project, American Immigration Council, American Immigration Lawyers Association, ASISTA, Catholic Legal Immigration Network, Inc., Immigrant Legal Resource Center, Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service, National Immigration Law Center, National Immigration Project of the National Lawyers Guild, Pro Bono Net, and The Advocates for Human Rights. For more information about IAN, visit www.immigrationadvocates.org<http://www.immigrationadvocates.org>.

Find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/immigrationadvocates<http://www.facebook.com/immigrationadvocates> and on Twitter atwww.twitter.com/immadvocates<http://www.twitter.com/immadvocates>."