Majority of States Considering Social Media Legislation

Majority of States Considering Social Media Legislation

Thirty-five states have introduced legislation this year to prohibit businesses from requesting access to the social media accounts of current or prospective employees, or to bar public colleges and universities from requesting such access from students, according to State Net analysts. Seven of those states - Arkansas, Colorado, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah and Washington - have enacted measures so far. Other social media measures are also awaiting gubernatorial action in New Jersey, Illinois and Vermont.

The above article is provided by the State Net Capitol Journal. State Net is the nation's leading source of state legislative and regulatory content for all states within the United States. State Net daily monitors every bill in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and the United States Congress - as well as every state agency regulation. Virtually all of the information about individual bills and their progress through legislatures is online within 24 hours of public availability.

To subscribe to the Capitol Journal and access archived issue go to the State Net Capitol Journal

If you are a subscriber, you can access State Net Bill Tracking, State Net Full Text of Bills, or State Net Regulatory Text. If you are interested in learning more about State Net, contact us.

For more information about LexisNexis products and solutions connect with us through our corporate site.