Not a Lexis+ subscriber? Try it out for free.

Tax Law

Tennessee Enacts Lower Remote Seller and Marketplace Sales Threshold

On June 30, Tennessee’s governor signed SB 2932 into law as Public Chapter 759. Effective October 1, 2020, the law requires a dealer or marketplace facilitator with no physical presence in the state and $100,000 in total sales in the state in the previous 12 months to register and collect sales and use tax. The previous threshold was $500,000 of total sales.