LexisNexis® Legal Newsroom
Continuation Benefits for Dependent Minor Child: Cal. Comp. Cases May Advanced Postings (5/8/2013)

Here’s the third batch of advanced postings for the May 2013 issue of Cal. Comp. Cases. Lexis.com and Lexis Advance subscribers can link to the case to read the complete headnotes and summaries. © Copyright 2013 LexisNexis. All rights reserved. Firecode Safety Equipment, Inc., Oak...

California: Death Benefits for Minors

It’s always tragic when a work injury results in the death of an injured worker. But such a loss is made even more poignant when the worker leaves behind a family with small children. With the paycheck from the deceased injured worker now gone, the primary concern becomes who will provide for injured...

MO: Injured Employee’s Overdose Death Leads to Lifetime Benefits for Surviving Dependents

In a case that shows what can happen when a court determines that it is absolutely bound by a rigid reading of statutory language, a Missouri appellate court recently held that under the surviving-dependent-becomes-employee-by-definition theory adopted in Schoemehl v. State of Missouri, 217 S.W.3d 900...

Adult Children Can Receive Lifetime Death Benefits: Cal. Comp. Cases October Advanced Postings (10/1/2014)

Here’s the second batch of advanced postings for the October 2014 issue of Cal. Comp. Cases. Lexis.com and Lexis Advance subscribers can link to the case to read the complete headnotes and summaries . © Copyright 2014 LexisNexis. All rights reserved. Alameda County Fire Department...

North Carolina: Claimant’s Attorney Requests $37,537 Fee, Gets $3,000

A North Carolina appellate court affirmed a decision of the state’s Industrial Commission awarding $3,000 in attorney fees to a claimant’s attorney, rather than the $37,537.50 the attorney had requested. Observing that the claimant’s husband had been killed in a vehicular accident while...

Mississippi: Managing Partner’s Failure to Secure Coverage Could Not Be Construed as Election to Be Exempt From Comp Act

Following the pattern of a number of states, Mississippi allows sole proprietors, partners in a partnership, or owners of 15 percent or more of a corporation to elect to be exempt from the state’s Workers’ Compensation Act if the partner, owner, or proprietor delivers a written notice to...