International Law

Caribbean Law Toolbox

LexisNexis is pleased to offer you the following selections from our primary law and analytical content on the laws of the various island nations and jurisdictions of the Caribbean Sea basin:
    Antigua and Barbuda
Barbados Agency & Distribution Laws (When menu appears open part V at bottom then scroll down to country entry)
     British Virgin Islands
     Cayman Islands
      Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Agency and Distribution Laws  (When menu appears open part V at bottom then scroll down to country entry)
     French West Indies
The French Overseas Departments and Territories (départements d'outre-mer and territoires d'outre-mer or DOM-TOM) consist of the overseas departments of Guadeloupe and Martinique, and the overseas collectivities of Saint-Barthélemy and Saint Martin.  Considered to be a part of Metropolitan France, French law applies directly in these territories and collectivities, augmented slightly by enabling and other specific laws and regulations. You may consult the bookstore (boutique) of LexisNexis France for the best and most comprehensive sources on French law.
You will find a detailed description and expert analysis of French law as it applies throughout metropolitan France and the overseas territories in  our treatise Doing Business in France.
Jamaica Agency & Distribution  (When menu appears open part V at bottom then scroll down to country entry)
     Netherlands Antilles

The Netherlands Antilles, formerly called the Netherlands West Indies or Dutch Antilles/West Indies, are among the Lesser Antilles and consist of two groups of islands in the Caribbean Sea: Curaçao and Bonaire, near the coast of  Venezuela, and Sint Eustatius, Saba and Sint Maarten, situated to the southeast of the Virgin Islands. These two groups of  islands form an autonomous part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Their economy depends mostly upon tourism, international financial services, international commerce and shipping and petroleum.

Plans to establish a new constitutional status and relationship to the Kingdom of the Netherlands has been indefinitely postponed.  They follow the Dutch Civil law with some common law influences alleged.  Hence reference to the laws of the Netherlands may be useful. 

     Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico Agency & Distribution (When menu appears open part V at bottom then scroll down to country entry)
     St. Kitts (St. Christopher) & Nevis
     St. Lucia
     St. Vincent and the Grenadines
     Trinidad and Tobago
     Turks and Caicos Islands
     US Virgin Islands
In addition to the texts to which direct links are set forth above, our Multi-Jurisdictional Surveys have entries concerning Discovery Rules, Energy- Carbon Trading, International Arbitration/ Dispute Resolution, International Bankruptcy Filing Requirements, and Minority Shareholder Rights for the following countries in this region:  Bahamas , Bermuda , Cayman Islands, Cuba and the Dominican Republic.  Choose your topic and select the North America link.

You may also wish to review the Lex Mundi Multi-Jurisdictional Surveys with country-specific entries from the local Lex Mundi law firms on a variety of different commercial and financial law topics.


 Don't forget to check in on the website of OHADAC, l'Organisation pour l'Harmonisation du Droit des Affaires dans la Caraïbe, as it works to harmonize the business laws of the Caribbean states, in the spirit of  the promising model of OHADA in Africa.


And for your edification, we present a tour of the prominent Court buildings of the Caribbean  states:
The Caribbean Court of Justice building at 134 Henry St, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court – Court Buildings
British Virgin Islands
St. Kitts
St. Lucia
St. Vincent