Home – States Seek to Maintain Net Neutrality

States Seek to Maintain Net Neutrality

 At least 32 states have introduced legislation this year that would require internet service providers to uphold net neutrality principles, according to analysis by the National Conference of State Legislatures and LexisNexis State Net. Many of those states introduced resolutions expressing opposition to the FCC’s decision last December to repeal net neutrality regulations and urging Congress to enact legislation reinstating net neutrality, but most of the states also considered net neutrality bills. Four states – California, Oregon, Vermont and Washington – have enacted such measures. In addition, governors in six states have signed executive orders dealing with the issue.