Home – States Still Divesting from Iran

States Still Divesting from Iran

 Twenty-two states and the District of Columbia have laws on the books prohibiting at least some state pension or retirement funds from investing in companies that do a certain amount of business in Iran. Ten of those states also have laws on the books prohibiting at least some government contracts with companies that do business with Iran. In seven states, the retirement funds have divested to at least some degree from companies doing business with Iran even though they weren't required by a state law to do so. One of those states where the fund has voluntarily divested, New York, also has a contracting ban in law. There are 20 states with no law or policy in place on divestment or contracting with companies with Iranian ties.




States with laws prohibiting pension fund investment in companies with ties to Iran: Arizona, California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, Nevada, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah


States with institutional policies to not invest in Iran (not enshrined in state law): Alaska, Colorado, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Washington

States with laws prohibiting government contracts with at least some companies with Iran ties: California, Connecticut, Florida, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina

States with no law or policy in place: Alabama, Arkansas

Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico
North Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia
Wisconsin, Wyoming