Home – Two More Govs Sign Net Neutrality Orders

Two More Govs Sign Net Neutrality Orders

Hawaii Gov. David Ige and New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy, both Democrats, became the latest governors to issue executive orders requiring internet providers to adhere to net neutrality if they want to be eligible for state contracts. The orders follow similar actions by Gov. Steve Bullock (D) in Montana and Gov. Andrew Cuomo (D) in New York. The Federal Communications Commission originally enacted net neutrality rules, which bar telecom companies from charging customers extra for faster service with better internet access, in 2015. But the FCC repealed those rules last December, saying they hindered broadband innovation and expansion. (HAWAII NEWS NOW [HONOLULU], NJ.COM)