Use this button to switch between dark and light mode.

California: CWCI Announces Webinar on Changes to the Med-Legal Fee Schedule

March 03, 2021 (1 min read)

Oakland – The California Workers’ Compensation Institute (CWCI) will present a live, one-hour webinar on Thursday, March 18 beginning at 9:30 a.m. (Pacific) to introduce workers’ compensation professionals to changes to the California Workers’ Compensation Medical-Legal Fee Schedule (MLFS) that the Division of Workers’ Compensation announced last week have been filed with the Office of Administrative Law. The DWC has requested that the revised MLFS take effect for services rendered on or after 4/1/21.

The webinar, “Gearing Up for the New MLFS: A Guide for Workers’ Compensation Professionals,” will be presented by CWCI’s Claims and Medical Director Jackie Secia, Senior Research Associate Stacy Jones, and General Counsel Ellen Sims Langille. The speakers will cover the wide array of changes to the med-legal fee schedule, including the new flat fees, hourly billing rates, and record review fees that have been adopted; and will provide details on the rules pertaining to those fees, the prohibition of fees for certain supplemental reports, and the new page-count attestation requirements for those who submit records to evaluating physicians as well as evaluating physicians submitting bills for record review. In addition to the live presentation, the program will be recorded and made available on-demand for those who are unable to attend the March 18 session. Those who attend either the live or the on-demand session will receive a downloadable file of the training materials.

Both the live and on-demand sessions will be free to CWCI member company employees, $99 for nonmembers.

The program has been approved for Minimum Continuing Legal Education credit by the State Bar of California in the amount of 1.0 hour, including 1.0 hours of Legal Specialization in Workers’ Compensation. CWCI also will provide certificates of attendance upon completion of the program for submission to the Association of Hearing Representatives of California and to verify hours for those in need of credit for Department of Insurance workers’ compensation claims adjuster certification requirements. To register for the live March 18 webinar or the on-demand webinar that will be available beginning March 22, click and scroll down to the “Gearing Up for the New MLFS: A Guide for Workers’ Compensation Professionals,” or call Mel Long at 510-251-9470.