February 5 -- Examining the Year of the Woman
Sign-up today for your complimentary subscription to the State Net Capitol Journal to stay up-to-date on the latest news from America’s statehouses.
Editor: Rich Ehisen
Associate Editor: Korey Clark
Editorial Advisor: Lou Cannon
Contributing Editor: Mary Anne Peck
Graphic Design: Vanessa Perez Design
Ideas and suggestions are always welcome. Please let us know how we can improve your newsletter! We welcome your feedback.
State Net Sign-on Page
State Net Product Page
HomeSpotlight Story | Bird’s Eye View | Budget & Taxes | Politics & Leadership | Governors | Hot Issues | Once Around the Statehouse Lightly
As of last month, 29 states had a minimum wage that was higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures. Two of those states, California and New York, have also passed laws that will gradually raise their minimum wages to $15 per hour - but only in parts of the state in New York - over the next several years. Six states do not have their own minimum wage, with New Hampshire having repealed its minimum wage law in 2011.
Source: National Conference of State Legislatures
State minimum wage higher than $7.25 federal rate: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia
Approved future minimum wage increase to $15: California, New York
No state minimum wage: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Tennessee